About us

North Yorkshire Local Resilience Forum was established by the Civil Contingencies Act 2004, which placed a duty on public sector organisations - local authorities, the emergency services, the NHS & health bodies and environment-related government agencies - to warn, inform and advise the public in the event of an emergency.  The borders of the LRF match those of North Yorkshire Police and cover an area of 8,654 square kilometres (3,341 sq mi), making it the largest county in England.

We are required to deliver emergency planning by:

  • Co-operating and sharing information to enhance co-ordination and efficiency between partners
  • Assessing the risk of emergencies occurring and using this to inform contingency planning
  • Putting in place
    • emergency plans
    • business continuity management arrangements
    • arrangements to warn, inform and advise the public in the event of an emergency
  • Making information available to the public about civil protection matters
  • Providing advice and assistance to businesses and voluntary organisations about business continuity management (local authorities only)

The majority of the Yorkshire Dales and the North York Moors lie within North Yorkshire's boundaries, and around 40% of the county is covered by National Parks. The largest settlements in North Yorkshire are York (153,717), Harrogate (73,576) and Scarborough (61,749); the county town is Northallerton with a population of 16,832.

The area under the control of the county council is divided into a number of local government districts; they are Craven, Hambleton, Harrogate, Richmondshire, Ryedale, Scarborough and Selby.